When barlow lenses are useful/useless, beginner question

Got a beginners' question? No matter how elementary, our friendly forum community and magazine writers will answer it.

When barlow lenses are useful/useless, beginner question

Postby Marius » Wed Jul 12, 2017 4:44 pm

Hello everyone!

I am completely new to astronomy so this question will probably be both easy and a bit dumb. I recently received a Celestron travel scope 70, a fairly weak telescope for a good price in my opinion. I am happy with what it does so far, but I have the possibility of getting a barlow lens (x3) to use with it.
Now my question is wether this lens is even usefull in the first place. I heard that trying to squeeze too much power out of fairly weak telescopes just leads to problems. The travel scope 70 has a 70mm aperature and a focal lenght of 400mm. I have 4 eyepieces. A 4mm one, a 10mm one, and a 20mm one.
I don't know if these specifications are of any help, but here they are anyway.
Thank you for your time!
Marius

Re: When barlow lenses are useful/useless, beginner question

Postby Gfamily2 » Wed Jul 12, 2017 10:04 pm

Marius wrote:Hello everyone!

I am completely new to astronomy so this question will probably be both easy and a bit dumb. I recently received a Celestron travel scope 70, a fairly weak telescope for a good price in my opinion. I am happy with what it does so far, but I have the possibility of getting a barlow lens (x3) to use with it.
Now my question is wether this lens is even usefull in the first place. I heard that trying to squeeze too much power out of fairly weak telescopes just leads to problems. The travel scope 70 has a 70mm aperature and a focal lenght of 400mm. I have 4 eyepieces. A 4mm one, a 10mm one, and a 20mm one.
I don't know if these specifications are of any help, but here they are anyway.
Thank you for your time!