wide angle lens for my DSLR camera

Got a beginners' question? No matter how elementary, our friendly forum community and magazine writers will answer it.

wide angle lens for my DSLR camera

Postby cwardlaw » Sun Jul 31, 2016 12:38 pm

As a novice I thought I would try some simple astroimaging! I am not sure which wide angle lens to buy for My Canon 500d which would give me the best results. It a simple star trail image I thought i would try first.
Any advice is welcome for my extremely basic question!

CW
cwardlaw

Re: wide angle lens for my DSLR camera

Postby Gfamily2 » Sun Jul 31, 2016 5:56 pm

cwardlaw wrote:As a novice I thought I would try some simple astroimaging! I am not sure which wide angle lens to buy for My Canon 500d which would give me the best results. It a simple star trail image I thought i would try first.
Any advice is welcome for my extremely basic question!

CW

My initial thought was to have a look on the Astrobin site and have a look at what other people are using for the type of image you're aiming to take.
However, a very cursory glance suggests that you might only get the camera details rather than the lens details in most cases. But it's a place to start.

For star trails, since you'll be taking a very long exposure, a particularly fast lens isn't vital - but assuming you want to later use it for other wide field imaging (the Perseids are likely to be making a showing in the next couple of weeks), you would hope to get one that's about f2.8 I'm told.

I assume you have a stock lens that came with the camera, so I'd suggest trying with what you have and aim to get the best out of your current equipment before splashing out on something that may not really be what you want in the long run.